Step 2 CS
Matching & Residency
Step 3
Classifieds

Archives

<<   < *  Step 3   *  >   >>  

* Passed step 3. My experience.
  lispor87 - 10/26/17 18:58

Hello everyone. I am a PGY-4 Radiology resident in Massachusetts (IMG on a J visa). For multiple reasons I delayed taking the Step 3 test (big mistake). I took my step 2 ck in May 2013, so it had been a long gap. I would recommend taking it prior to the start of your residency or during your intern year. Anyway, I did a surgical preliminary year in a very busy hospital in New York preceding my radiology residency, hence I did not have any time to study.

I kept postponing this test and concentrated on my residency rotations. I will be applying for IR fellowship this December, and passing step 3 would be beneficial for getting interviews. I signed up for this test in July and planned to take it in the first week of October. I requested my chief resident to put me on a light schedule and reduce my night float calls for the month of September. Being away from a clinical field for over 2 years and ck since 2013, I struggled with the usmle Q bank (low 50%). I started faring better in the mid 70% towards the end. Referred to MTB for Peds, Ob/Gyn and Psych. Did UW again during the last week. Did UWSA 2 days before the test- 202 :(

Decided to take the test anyway, as I did not have the stamina to extend my study schedule.

Took the test on Oct 2nd and 3rd.

This is by far the worst step amongst the usmle series. Vague questions mixed with Step 1/ck and a whole lot of biostatistics and drug ads on day 1. Day 2- much better and closer to UW. CCS went ok (all patients improved before the case ended).

Got my score yesterday- 201 :( But who the hell cares. I just wanted a pass result.