Classifieds

Archives

SOAP Begins in: 

<<   < *  Matching & Residency   *  >   >>  

* Old IMG: graduated in 2002
  parkinson123 - 06/07/18 17:18

Hi doctors
Can you give me an advice.
I graduated from the university in 2002. After that I followed research path (PhD, Postdoc, researcher, all in Canada) and now I would like to try to do neurology residency. By the way all my research is about neuroscience, I am working with humans, neurophysiology research: EEG, EMG, brain stimulation, brain imiging etc.
Should I try STEP exams or it is useless after such a long time, I will just loose time, several years.
Thanks in advance

Report Abuse

* Re:Old IMG: graduated in 2002
  psychoroxxy - 06/07/18 17:51

You have a PhD ... that is a great achievement in itself.

The road to residency although not impossible can be frustrating especially for ones who are in such later stages of life.

Choose wisely OR continue building on what you have.

Report Abuse

niko8800 - 06/07/18 18:35

- high scores
- usce
-strong LOR
- make connections with neurologists in the us

all these can help you.

Report Abuse

dreamstocometrue - 06/08/18 08:37

I have a feeling most people post on this forum just to feel connected and combat loneliness of the IMG experience, which can be therapeutic. However, its NOT OKAY to keep asking the same question without implementing the feedback one receives from this forum.

I think that most of us questions, to confirm our own answers :)

niko8800 - 05/13/18 16:24

Hi colleagues