Step 2 CS
Matching & Residency
Step 3
Classifieds

Archives

<<   < *  Step 1   *  >   >>  

* Chances of making it for a very old IMG
  hobo - 06/05/19 12:02

I am an IMG, YOG 2003. After my residency and short period of clinical research in my home country, I came to US with F1-visa. I did a PhD in Pathology with 3 lead author publications in high impact peer reviewed journals. I now work in a well-reputed Biotech company as a senior scientist, making a decent salary, married with kids. There is not one fleeting day in my life, I don't think about my days in medical school, and career in medicine. I would like to go back. I passed USMLE step 1 and 2 more than 7 years ago, so the scores are no longer valid. At the time I didn't have green card, I was finishing up PhD, region bound from family and young children. I want to go back, take the tests again. Is it worth the effort? I am based in California, which I hear is not the best place for IMGs. Please advise, and share your experiences. Any candid feedback will be greatly appreciated.

Report Abuse

* Re:Chances of making it for a very old IMG
  hobo - 06/05/19 12:18

Forgot to mention that my interest has always been Pathology and I would aim for residency in Pathology. My current work is mostly in genetics and diagnostics.  
Report Abuse

tata_box - 06/05/19 23:48

Never every give up! Where in Cali?

My Skype ID is:

nm_usmle_cs

We can study together and encourage each other.

I am doing pathoma right now. May be you can help me preparing for the exam.

Report Abuse

farhastep1 - 06/08/19 11:43

honestly... you have excellent chances....  
Report Abuse

esblklebsiella - 06/08/19 12:37