Matching & Residency
Step 3
Classifieds

Archives

SOAP Begins in: 

<<   < *  Matching & Residency   *  >   >>  

* Best plan for old graduate?
  indiansoul - 09/25/19 10:50

Hi, I am an old graduate (in 2015) whos gonna apply for 2022/2023 match.
I have been working as a general doctor for 4 yrs w/o residency training in my home country, and just started studying for usmle.
Id like to apply for pathology residency in the US.

Which one is the best plan to get a even better chance for me ;
(Assume with average usmle scores like 230-240)

1. General doctor for 7yrs in home country + 1 yr research in the US (YOG 8)
2. General doctor for 7yrs in home country + 1 yr PhD in the US (YOG 8)
3. Home country residency in pathology -> apply for pathology program in the US (YOG 10)
4. Home country residency in FM or preventive medicine -> apply for pathology program in the US (YOG 9)

Which one is the best plan for me now?

Report Abuse

* Re:Best plan for old graduate?
  parmesh495 - 09/26/19 14:30

If you take too much time you will be considered as old grad and most of the programs have 5 years of cut-off and programs may filter out your application if you have more YOG.

If you want to take much time then complete home country residency in the specialty you want to apply for match and gain hands-on clinical experience for making the CV strong and show that you are clinically active. Also you can get strong LORs by gaining clinical experience in US.

Report Abuse

yanagi - 10/02/19 23:23

I match to pathology this year, I am 20+ YOG and match at my 1st attempt. My advices: