Step 2 CS
Matching & Residency
Step 3
Classifieds

Archives

<<   < *  Step 3   *  >   >>  

* Step 3 time limit
  njotv - 01/03/19 19:23

Hello people, Im currently in 1st year of fam med residency, and Im not done with my step 3. My question for everybody is that my step 1 was in 2011 and there are more than 7 years, Im in Texas and planning to stay in this state. FSMB page says that if your time limit is more than 7 yrs but you are board certified there is no problem to practice in this state. Any one else in the same situation???? thank you in advance..  
Report Abuse

* Re:Step 3 time limit
  njotv - 01/03/19 19:59

Nobody??  
Report Abuse

usmloma - 01/03/19 23:11

have you talked to the board in texas? so if yo are board certified, yo are ok and can practice everywhere. but if not borad certified like ABIM then seven years rule apply and some states will not give you permanent licence.
I am the same situation and I do not know what to do

Report Abuse

step1sp - 01/04/19 18:32

Hi guys,

Did anyone of you talk to any state licensing boards which has the 7 years limit for all the steps? Does that apply for TEMPORARY license to start residency in states where 7 years apply? Where is the info that says you can practice in all states with out the 7 years rule applying if you are board certified? Could you guys let us know? Thanks.

Report Abuse

usmloma - 01/05/19 02:48

Temporary license to start residency does not need step 3. to have permanent license u need to have three yrs of training in most of states. once u are board certified you can apply and 7 yrs rule does not apply (state board told my friend)  
Report Abuse

img919 - 01/05/19 03:22

does that mean candidates are eligible to apply/start for residency in states with 7 year rule.......even though the state has 7 year rule for permanent license.....and 7 year limit has expired for step 3 .......

are the criteria for temporary license same or different for states??

help guys....

Report Abuse