Matching & Residency
Step 3
Classifieds

Archives

<<   < *  Step 3   *  >   >>  

* Passed Step 3- tested in December 2018
  the28shogun - 01/16/19 15:22

Hey everyone,

Can't believe that I passed, it is an extremely difficult exam but I wanted to share my experience with you guys and hope it will help.

First of all, do not take this test lightly, yes it is easier than other exams, but it is still a USMLE and repeating it can have severe consequences. Take it seriously especially if you are not in residency. I am in my first year of residency and I still thought that this exam was hard even though I have had one month each of medicine, ER and ICU.

Resources I used were: Uworld, Master the Boards Step 3, and Kaplan lecture notes. I used Uworld more than anything else. I read MTB 3 probably twice, but it was so spread out that it was not really that helpful. I used the kaplan lecture notes once in a while when there was a topic that I felt I had a poor basic understanding of or if I found a gap in fundamental knowledge. I did not read them in their entirety at all.

I did Uworld as often as I could and made sure to do the entire thing, then all of my incorrect questions, then all of my marked questions. Then whatever notes I made I reviewed those up until my test day.

I did both of the Uworld self-assessments, and I got something like 196 and 198. However I felt that the content of the uworld self-assessments was significantly different than the content of the qbank itself, and so I didn't let these scores worry me too much. Most people say that they score roughly 20pts higher on the actual exam than on the Uworld self-assessment. I did not use any of the NBMEs.