Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
211/88, a genuine experience - medguy09
Guys, Im a poster on this forum but I'm using a different username so I can post my experience freely without NBME chasing me..

On my Step 1 and Step 2 I passed with 79 each time.

About Step 3. Took the exam in early Nov and got my score today (211/88). This was my second attempt.
Little background about me. Im a FM resident in my 2nd year. Took it the first time 2 weeks before I started internship and got 168/69, so my confidence was definitely hit.

For this attempt here's what I did:
Took about 2.5 months to study. For 2 months I studied after my shifts, so from 6p-11pm, then weekends 7am-10pm. The last 10 days before my exam I had off from rotations so I studied 5am-11pm hardcore for those last 10 days.

I did NOT use any ARCHER NOTES or Dr Red CCS or anything like that.

I used as a main book: Master the Boards (MTB): AWESOME BOOK! Everything you need is in there. I took my notes into that book.
I used mainly Step 2 CK books for everything except for Medicine, in which I used Step Up to Medicine.
I had Crush, but found it wasnt too helpful. I used Swanson's, which was very helpful for Sports Medicine, Geriatrics, Behavorial Science, and Neonatology.
I also had Premier Review which I used sparingly for Cardio and Respiratory. It's a good book, however I didnt like the format (bullet point) so I just used it to cross reference.
For a medical reference I used Up-To-Date (from the Hospital...its an online medical reference...no copies out there sorry).
I had MKSAP at the hospital, but never used it (it was beyond the scope of Step 3).