USMLE Forum - Largest USMLE Community
miracles do happen - 5attempts - Printable Version

+- USMLE Forum - Largest USMLE Community (https://www.usmleforum.com)
+-- Forum: USMLE Forum (https://www.usmleforum.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Step 1 (https://www.usmleforum.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: miracles do happen - 5attempts (/showthread.php?tid=171750)

Pages: 1 2 3

miracles do happen - 5attempts - ArchivalUser - 03-18-2007

Here is my story. I was waiting a long time to write this and the day has come to do it........
My story is the truth. I graduated 4 yrs ago with a MBBS from India. I thought i was smart enought to tackle the step 1 with no help but only came to realize that i had to take it 5 times to pass. Each attempt i landed with a 181...I almost decided to quit on my 4th attempt so I decided to take my step 2ck and CS and I actually passed on my first attempt but with a low score. So, then i decided to take my step 1 again...While taking all these steps my parents tried to marry me off but no one wanted someone with this many failures behind her name...So, u can imgaine my self esteem at that time......My parents are old and sick and their only last wish was to see me in residency and married..With that in mind I was even more stressed....
So, then i decide to finally take my step 1 and I got in the mid 80s...I couldn't believe it........
Along with studying i did a couple of rotations in the US/research to increase my CV......Now, with passing scores..the next question was...who would take me with this many attempts.....
So, I tried for scramble last yr and no response of course....
Then i decided to try for 2007 match....I called everywhere to find program requirements for Pediatrics....Not one would accept my CV but I still applied...Praying that God would change there mind after reading my personal statement.....
Here is when the miracle all happened....I recieved 7 interviews in Peds and Family Prac with no help but God..