USMLE Forum - Largest USMLE Community
failed 3 times - - Printable Version

+- USMLE Forum - Largest USMLE Community (https://www.usmleforum.com)
+-- Forum: USMLE Forum (https://www.usmleforum.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Step 1 (https://www.usmleforum.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: failed 3 times - (/showthread.php?tid=1856)

Pages: 1 2

failed 3 times - - ArchivalUser - 11-16-2003

Gia - deltawpb

I need some help. Got my results yesterday and failed for the third time. Practice exams I was running were all aover 80 %.
Study material I used was First AId for USMLE step 1 / medrevue q-bank and the whole series of Youel's prep.
I have been a practising doctor for 12 years, never had any problems in the medical field and know I am sitting here with this d......... exam and can not pass this border. Any advice there out for me / references on the study material. ? I really would apreciate it

0 - ArchivalUser - 11-16-2003

einsteinheart

Hi! This is the hardest exam for which I have ever prepared. It's just so much memorization, and I don't think that I'm good at memorizing. Give me a math problem or something which requires only my understanding! Guess what? I'll solve it, but memorization. Oh my! I cannot tell you how to study for this exam or what books to use if you've already been using it. However, I can say that anyone can learn given enough time. For some people, that requires 3 months. For others, learning for the USMLE requires 3 years. However, when facts are drilled into a head long enough, eventually they stick. Evaluate if there's a more efficient way for you to study. Even if there isn't, don't give up. As for books, I don't know. The books which you used seem fine. Don't use too many different info sources.

ankur

i would recomend the kaplan q bank any time.its the best resourse out there.

Lee