USMLE Forum - Largest USMLE Community
LOW Scores,, MPH from usa,, my chances? - uneeza - Printable Version

+- USMLE Forum - Largest USMLE Community (https://www.usmleforum.com)
+-- Forum: USMLE Forum (https://www.usmleforum.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Matching & Residency (https://www.usmleforum.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Thread: LOW Scores,, MPH from usa,, my chances? - uneeza (/showthread.php?tid=387746)

Pages: 1 2

LOW Scores,, MPH from usa,, my chances? - uneeza - ArchivalUser - 02-23-2009

I am an old graduate >6 yrs,,low scores in step 1 and 2,, doing MPH in usa. have not taken step 3. what are my chances of getting residency in pediatrics or family practice for the 2010 match? am an IMG with usa citizenship?

0 - ArchivalUser - 02-23-2009

0-100%.

hey ya i got that,, i need some real feedback,,

You chances are 110% if you start believing in that and work towards your goal. Take step 3 and try to get as much USCE as possible................Don't look at the failures of the people, instead look at those who have achieved everything here in US. Don't pay any attention to posts where you see disappointment and despair. You have very good chance of getting into a residency program especially in Peds and Family Medicine...............GL

You have a good chance for Family Practice- its the least comeptitive and your mph will be an asset. For family practice the number of attempts matter more than the scores (and people who failed once or twice have also matched into family)...plus being a citizen will help immensely

So go for it!

You have a very good shot. MPH is very helpful to get into FM, psychiatry and IM. With your MPH, you can show an interest in Infectious diseases and public health. Very very helpful. You are a citizan. That will help you go a long way. Other than that, work on your step 3. That will overcome your low scores. If you are a citizan and done with step 3, rest is irrelevant. Good luck!!