USMLE Forum - Largest USMLE Community
very old IMG - ranaali - Printable Version

+- USMLE Forum - Largest USMLE Community (https://www.usmleforum.com)
+-- Forum: USMLE Forum (https://www.usmleforum.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Classifieds (https://www.usmleforum.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Thread: very old IMG - ranaali (/showthread.php?tid=657377)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

very old IMG - ranaali - ArchivalUser - 02-25-2012

I graduated in 1987 and i tried usmle in 1995-96 didn't make it,with family and small kids it was impossible so i focused on my family.Now i have time to focus more and work but i don't know where to begin, which course to take and if i go through this torture will i get in the residency program.Please advice because i am new to this forum is there a chance for old IMG.

0 - ArchivalUser - 02-26-2012

If you're rich then by all means give it a shot
Otherwise focus on making money

You can do any thing once you set your mind. A lot has changed. If your kids do not need your attention and your spouse is okay to be by them self for every need, focus on your studies. Start from the beginning. Get the latest editions of kaplan and start reading as much as you can. And you will achieve your goals. Good luck.

yes follow suggestions given by cheila9271978 and fireice .
but by all means don't fall victim of the 13.5K grntee course

5344 - ArchivalUser - 02-26-2012

ranali, i am 1996 graduate, passed step 3, got gc, was practising till 2006 when i came here, got post grad from home country, got research publication, volunteering in big university in research now but for last 2 years no interview. it is really hard. since u are old grad , thinking u will have family, and comes geographical boundary. before even thinking of usmle, make sure u know u might not get anywhere. i did not mean u won't get it. it is hard once u r out of practice for long time. if u still working in medical field then yes u should at least try.