USMLE Forum - Largest USMLE Community
Suggestions needed - usmlepath - Printable Version

+- USMLE Forum - Largest USMLE Community (https://www.usmleforum.com)
+-- Forum: USMLE Forum (https://www.usmleforum.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Matching & Residency (https://www.usmleforum.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Thread: Suggestions needed - usmlepath (/showthread.php?tid=688018)

Pages: 1 2

Suggestions needed - usmlepath - ArchivalUser - 07-14-2012

I have decent scores on Step1 and CK, bt failed CS for second time. Was really shocked. Applied again and plan to appear for CS soon to get results by oct 3rd. But how will it affect my application? Also my Step3 is gonna get delayed till i get certified. I graduated in 2011 and expecting to have 3 US LOR's by second week of aug with 3 weeks of USCE in sep at a univ. place. Do i stand a chance for this match??? Any suggestions or strategies???

0 - ArchivalUser - 07-14-2012

See its easy to explain a single fail, you can always blame it on a bad day or extenuating circumstances out of your control. But two fails makes things more difficult.

The programs do consider the whole application. But you will have to prepare to explain the two fails. I can tell you that yes it will affect your chances of IV at some programs but others might be willing to work with you.

Strategy, come up with a good explanation for your CS performance and include it in your ERAS app.

Iowa usually has good suggestions maybe iowa can give you some input here.

@Peppino You have said it even better than I can.... and I appreciate your recognition.

@usmlepath adding to d good advice pepp has given u....while the 2 CS fails is big... continue your USCE.... it will result in good LORs and contacts. Also work hard on your IV skills so that you get a chance to show that your communication skills are not as poor as your CS results may suggest.

Thanks alot peppino and iowa.