Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Confused: Advise on taking step1 and step2 - drsmsin
I want to go for residency in 2009. I am thinking of taking step 1 in Jan 2008 and step 2 in July 2008? I am an old graduate doing PhD right now. Can anyone please suggest me whether it will be enough time to prepare for the exams??? I haven't applied yet.
To make it to the 2009 match, finish at least your CS before August 2008. SO move your Ck to an earlier date. Better if you finish step 3 in the same year also, if you're an IMG.
finish step one by latest nov 2007 ...thers enugh time...study til dec 4 cs... try and schedule observers 4 then.give cs in jan...give ck in may...step 3 by august latest wit another observers if its reqd alongwith ur phd qual...if ur an american grad cut out the observers time and finish step 3 a mnth earlier as u dont need obs....
Dear virtuoso_pianist and missincere,
Thanks for the replies. I use to think that I need to take step 3 after starting the residency. I am 1993 IMG and was out of clinical touch since last 10 years. It took me so many years to convince myself that I can probably take it as a challenge. I am just beginnig to study. I don't know how much I will get done. I am stressed out thinking about it and scared about the future so just delaying the application process.
I am a clinician, IMG too, would advise that you take step 1 by Oct-Nov 2007, then take Step 2CS by Dec 2007-Jan 2008, and the step 2CK by Aug 2008. That way, both step 1 and 2CK get about 6months each and you'll be in time to apply for the 2009 residencies in Sep-Oct 2008. Make sure you have your Step 2CS results latest by July 2008. Step 2CS is really easy, don't waste more than 1 month into it. Take Step 3 by Nov-Dec 2008, and you'll be eligible for H1 visa for 2009 session. You have ample time, in which to take all exams comfortably. All the best.