Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Guys I need sincere advice? - cloudy
I graduated 7 years ago and step one and two scores are 78 and 80 first attempt and Cs 2nd attempt. I am citizen, have three Us lors with total experience of 6 months externship. Three month family medicine (out pt pvt clinic), three month obgyn (out patient pvt clinic)and one month internal med(university program) ongoing research exp ( though no name in publication). I applied to im and fm 110 programs and no call. I did not have any us lors at that time and added one in NOV so was already late.

I don't know if I stand a chance for scramble or not . I have been disheartend by my scores and no interview calls but I can't change it. What should i do next?

Please advice
1. pass step3 with good score before sept1st.
2. have all ur US LORS ready by sept1
3. keep ur cv running until spet 1st, focus on one specialty- all FM/IM/Peds letters. Gyne letter wud help u for FM
4. with citizenship, and US letters u definitely stand a good chance in next match.

5. Goodluck for scramble..try ur luck..u never know.
I totally agree with rasmalai..apart from that there are other things to look into

1.redo or better your personal statement

2.Make the CAF more impressive and captivating

It is important to look back at what went wrong that u did not have even 1 interview..do not totally blame it on the US LOR. There are loads of people who do not have US LOR or citizenship with low scores who make it..I think u have to sensibly identify the flaws and do the needful.
Thanks Rasmalai and resilientdoc, I really appreciate your kind advice. At this time of uncertainity I really needed a boost.

I don't know what went wrong , my personal statement is fine though I have to put all my clinical experience in CAf "?( I can't do it now for scramble as I can't update the CAF)

I also wanted to ask if any Inpatient experience in residency hospital can help me get into residency.