Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Guide to obtain a Radiology residency - themost
I am a fresh graduate from INDIA who just completed my MBBS and I am anticipating my Graduation in 5-6 months.

I would like to know what are all the steps I need to take to obtain a radiology residency in the USA.
I don't want to make a mistake in anything that i am going to do from now onward.

I have obtained electives at Herbert Wertheim FIU for Radiology,Gastroenterology and pathology.

I am aiming Step one score 250.

What else should I concentrate on ?

Please make some time to help me.
I would be obliged so much.
Thank you.
Radiology in USA now is 2 broad categories of diagnostic/intervention. Intervention is more likely competitive although radiology in recent years has not been as well sought after by AMG like say 10 yrs ago because the market is a tad slow.

1. Scores
2. CV including your electives, research, LORs
3. Apply smart, try to get a foot in the door with IMG friendly places and volunteer in research etc. Good luck
In 2016 there were 1168 positions for radiology with 1220 applicants. OUt of those 719 were US Allopatic seniors, 107 DOs, 76 US IMGs and 101 non US IMGs, 165 other (Previous graduates, Canadians?).IMGs were almost 9% of matched, 8% of applicants. 57% of applying IMGs matched (only non US IMGs)

In 2017 there were 932 PGY2 and 121 PGY1 positions (1053), not sure if the total number would include interventional radiology but let's say it does which would put it at 1177.
OUt of those 1177, 845 were filled by US allopatic seniors, a lot more than in 2016. If the other percentages stayed similar, there would be few positions left for Non US IMGs.
Will have to wait for the final match results.

Matched Non US IMGs probably had excellent profiles and a ton of USCE in radiology or previous radiology residency training abroad.

shrinkmuse is right:
You need
- Contacts, contacts, contacts
- Many rotations, experience or research in radiology