Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
nbme predictive value - phi500ac
Hi, I am an IMG medical student. I have done Internal Medicine in my country, and I want to repeat it in U.S. I have taken 4 mbme online and two Kaplan full length simulation tests. My results are the following:

mbme 15 -- 228
mbme 16 -- 240
mbme 17 -- 250
Kaplan full length simulation test 1 -- 87%
Kaplan full length simulation test 2 -- 88%
mbme 13 -- 259

I thought Kaplan full length simulation tests would be a good exercise, since its duration is roughly equal to the real stuff. However, I have no idea on how Kaplan correlates with the three digit step 1 score. As you can see, I started very low, at 228 in mbme 15. I made a lot of stupid mistakes in mbme 13. For instance, I performed a division where I should have done a multiplication. I will take step 1 a month from now, on September 13, 2017. I have saved mbme 18 and mbme 19 for the end of August. For the time being, I am repeating UWorld qbank, since I already did all of them.

I would be glad to hear from people with the same perfil as myself, i. e., who started with a very low score in mbme 15, and improved little by little, but never reached the 260+ range. What range can I hope for in the real thing? I heard that nbme have a predictive power of +/-5, and I should expect something between 254 and 264. Other people say that a more realistic range is +/-10, and my real score could be as low as 249.
Sorry I can't answer your question but please share how you improved your score, I did offline nbme 12 and scored 217, and I really wanna cross 240, as being an old img I must have something in hands