Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
To joewest! -
nms

Hi:
I really read your comment regarding pathology residency.My question is :
I am a recent graduate of 2002 and I have 2 months of USCE with 3 USLOR.I need visa.
Regarding my scores I GOT SCORES OF 89/88 NOW, is it just b/c I am 1 point below the 90+ edge I will not get any interviews.
BTW I am applying for IM programs and regarding the 90+ scores I have read in a website(csa-notes.com)that good scores start from 88-99 not 90+.And I saw many people in this forum and other forums who got many interviews and prematches with high 80`s scores!I am waiting your reply!!thanx
ab

Do you mean 85-87 are bad?
joewest

Hi,
If you REALLY read my message, you notice that I clearly stated that matching is not mathematics. Once you get interviews, 90 is no different than 88 or 89, there are no rules about this, it's just common sense. The only difference would be that some programs have arbitrary cutoff scores which are used to screen canditates for interviews. Cutoffs are usually 80 or 85. A few programs have cutoff of 90, and you would probably be excluded from those, unless you know somebody inside the program (coordinator, PD's etc).
Other that this cutoff crap, once you get interviews, small score differences don't matter.
"Good scores" is a very nonespecific term. If it means "minimum scores for an FMG to get a few interviews for IM or path in a noncompetitive place", you're talking about low 80's. "To have a chance at good university programs without any contacts", probably 90-95. I interviewed at top university IM programs around the country, and all FMG's I've met so far had scores of 95+. Community hospitals are a completely different story. For path, things are probably similar, as the competitiveness of path is comparable to that of IM.