Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
should i quit my job & study fulltime -plz reply - usmann76
I am sorry because KNOW IAM POSTING THIS FOR THE SECOND TIME, HOPING I WOULD GET SOME replies FROM YOU ALL. This is a serious decision that I have to make and I want to know what u all think

I am studying step 1 and I feel like quitting my Job and I need your advice.
This is my scenario;
1] I have money saved to manage for 2 years.
2] Iam a GREEN CARD holder.
3] Iam a RN,and MBA healthcare mgmt; so getting another job will not be a problem.
4] Iam working as a Manager making $100,000/ yr; so is it worth giving up on this Job for this residency risk
5] I am old grad as well 2001; if I take this risk what if I don™t get Residency?

Right now I am able to
-study only 3 hrs Monday thru Friday;
-10 hrs Saturday and Sunday.
-But if quit I can be done with it asap instead of dragging it like this.

IAM SO CONFUSED AND PLEASE ADVICE ON WHAT YOU WERE ME DO.

Thanks in advance.
you need not to quit. The steps are not that hard. If you study one hour/day you will make it.
My advice: study the first aid books. I scored > 95 in all my testsand I am an IMG. If I could, you can too...
good luck...
Like I said in my book, you should study 8 months almost everyday (10 hours) for step1 and 4-6 months for step 2.
If you have money saved, I recommend highly to quit your job and focus on studying. Exam scores remain the most important aspect of the application and you don't want to have any regret especially knowing that any failure stay in your records.

Dr. Rock