Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Obamacare and medical students - arbeit
Hey guys, I'm a 26 y/o male 3rd year medical student from an international school doing rotations in the US. I wanted to share my experience, and see what your experiences have been thus far.

My medical school does not provide students with medical insurance in the United States, funny enough we do have malpractice insurance. Upon me turning 26, I received an email regarding the Affordable Care Act, and how it was required for me to sign up by Feb 15th. I quickly got on the phone, provided my information, stated I was a full time medical student and my income was zero dollars. I was very surprised when I was told I did not qualify for the affordable care act with a yearly income of zero dollars. I was provided with options, the cheapest was some unknown insurance company who was charging 134 dollars/month with a deductible of 6000 dollars. In other words they were forcing me to pay around 1600 dollars/ year with a deductible of 6 THOUSAND dollars?!! Meaning my regular check ups would not be covered anyways. My other option was to not sign up for anything and take on the risk of being uninsured and pay a penalty fee at the end of the year of 350 dollars or so.

Seriously Obama?!! You'll cover an 18 year old who got knocked up, and is unemployed. However, you will not cover a responsible 26 y/o single male, who will be a future healthcare provider? There's something wrong with the priorities in this country!
If anyone has gone through something similar and was able to find a way to be insured for cheaper please do share.
i have some information but will tell u later because library is closing now
Obama care is not perfect and has problems. As to the knocked up 18 year old, she is covered under medical because she is carrying an infant. That is one of the bug we have in your healthcare system.