Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Internal Medicine residency chances - gopalan
I am a 2003 medical graduate. I continued to do M.P.H from UCLA. RIght now, for past 1 year, I am involved in evidence-based medicine reasech in the field of myelodysplastic syndrome and secondary hyperparathyroidism. I secured 98 score in Step 1. I have 1 US LOR from my principal investigator. I have started studying for USMLE Step 2. I will applying for 2008 match.

Do you think I have a chance for IM residency.
no
To FRED,

WHY NO?. What can I do to improve my application
I think Fred is being sarcastic and mean simply because it is OBIVIOUS that you have a VERY HIGH CHANCE for IM residency. Just make sure your Step 2 is in 90s as well, ECFMG certified by September, you should be on the highway to IM residency. I hope I answered your question
I wanted to ask a question for my brother who finished MBBS last year. Is it worth doing M.P.H from universities like UCLA. Will it help in strengthening residency application
Personally, I don't think so. As long his scores are good (above 90s) and fresh graduate. I don't see why he won't be wanted by lots of programs. Most of the people who match do not have an MPH, if he needs to get something, the best would be an observership or an externship. That would lead to a US LOR from a medical doctor which carries some weight. Let me also say that most IMGs that match do not have USCE.