Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Looking for sincere advice - achalasia_123
Hi All- I am writing to you to seek sincere advice. I am am old foreign medical graduate (US citizen) with years of clinical research experience in the biotech industry, with a well established clinical research career in the biotech/ pharma industry. However, the professional urge for a 1:1 patient care seems to not go away even at this point in life. It goes back 15 years ago when I tried applying for residency several times and was unsuccessful, therefore led to a successful career in the industry.

I am a 2003 graduate with all USMLE steps passed since 2008, scores- 82- 79- 78. The deal killer at that time was that I passed my step 1 in the 4th attempt that ruined my chance in such a competitive environment. I have 5 years of clinical experience working as an Internist ex-US. When I was applying for residency (2007-12 ), I had some observer ship experience in the US but had no externship experience at all. I did manage to get interviews (1 to 2) each year, in Psychiatry and sometimes FM, but was not able to match. The other issue too is that my application was never focussed to one specialty because due to family/ financial issues, I had to maitain my full time job in research to support my family and was never able to do a dedicated externship and to get effective LORs. So, after unsuccessful attempts in matching, I pursued my career in the pharma industry and am doing very well.

BUT, My desire for clinical practice is not going away!! I believe that I will do better in clinical which is why I am considering applying for residency. But to all those in clinical practice (during residency or after in clinical practice)- I am looking for a sincere advice.

My interest is mainly in IM but if there are other less competitive specialties I should consider, please feel free to suggest