Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
how imp is dean's letter/MSPE - pemphigus
How imp is it for IMG's?
What if I cannot submit either of them. I graduated 10yrs ago and now it is almost impossible to get them. I do have internship completion certificate and clerkship certificate, will these documents suffice for Dean's/MSPE?
What shd I mark on CAF?
If you are not able to provide a deans letter then indicate this in page 12 of your caf. ERAS would fill that slot with a document stating as much...how important it is is difficult to answer but i guess you would have seen many program websites stating it as a requirement for application review, in fact most do.

Uh...i think i failed to help you...but this is it.
This whole dean's letter/MSPE is really freaking me out... I graduated, well, 12 years ago, and hard to get this kind of thing. Dean was replaced so many times already, I guess. Isn't ECFMG acting as IMG's "Dean's office", so why can't they provide something???
I am in the same situation. I graduated almost 14 years ago and I have no clue how I am gonna get it. ECFMG cannot provide it because this document will tell about your behavior during your Med school - relationship with your classmates, your dedication, etc. As far as I know, it is a very biased document because every dean writes that everyone of their students is in the "top ten" in the school and everybody was a stellar student. There is nothing objective on that (maybe I am wrong but that is my impression). I will try to contact my dean this week (which will not be an easy task, I can tell...) and ask him if there is ANY type of document that could be filled out based on my old records, just for me to have something to send. I don't know if it will work but I will try.