Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
why are fresh graduates favored - nakamu
Old graduates can start work on the go. No hassle to the residents, fresh graduates still have to be taught to do this and that, supervision etc....... So can anybody explain this enigma to me?
Old grads more often than not have already their way of doing things.
The rationale of the programs is that they prefer young grads who are fresh but usually more willing to learn something in the way that the program wants. Old grads, used to doing something differently, may give the program hard time because of their customs.
Plus, old grads sometimes do not take too well the fact that their immediate superiors are usually younger tham they are.

Now, before anyone says anything - I am not writing here to discredit old grads. I am just trying to explain the philosophy that stands behind programs' decision.

Take care
so if I am an old grad and promise the PD I will follow thier rules, then I would be more favourable to the programs?
SIMLPE-american medical system does not support practise after medical school,that is why residency starts in July and Medical students graduate in June,so no gap in the education,unlike the british system where you can work as SHO or medical officer.So it is difficult for them to understand.

yes,some old graduate who have accomplished alot may be stiff sometimes(and funny enough they may be the right person on the issue),but some of them are treasured in some specialties and fields because of years of experience
hi kita, so who is considered an old graduate, 2 years post graduation, 5? If I finish 2 years of HO in my country will I be considered old? I am still a medical student. is it better to apply straight out of med school? I just feel a little unsettled going to a foreign land but still unable to function as a full fledged doctor. Any comments are welcome
I think reason is simple. Older graduate have less energy and residency is demanding.