Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Kindly help me -
Siva

Dear Friends,

Thanks a lot for all your messages. I am really enjoying this forum.

Here is my story.I graduated in India in 1994 and studied for 2 years and got MS ENT in the meantime I finished my PLAB.

I came to UK and did my FRCS(ENT) in a year since I had all the requirements.They told me I am very good candidate and will get into registrar program easily so I concentrated in doing reserch during my working hours. Finally I managed to publish 6 papers and even presented twice in American Academy of Otolaryngological society.

I was shortlisted 8 times and went for the interview if a local candidate is there the job goes to him because interview is totally subjective and they manipulate and give the job to him.The feedback they gave me was the other guy is excepational.

Finally I decided UK is not a land for foreigners and decided to take USMLE.

I was totally depressed by the things which happened to me here.

Here are the questions
1)Kindly let me know how difficult is ENT in US has anybody got it?

2) IS it worth changing the speciality since it is difficult to get a ENT residency in states?

3) IS it worth moving out of UK?

4) I got a fellowship in Rhinology in University of Georgia and it is for 2 years and they are offering me J1 Visa should I take that will it be a problem to stay in US after doing it?

5) I am 33 now is age a problem?

Kindly do not mistake me if any graduate from UK is in the forum.

Thanks in advance

Tarun

Hai Shiva,
I am one of the post PLAB Doctors in UK ,waiting for a job for 8 months.I also fell that UK is not a Favourite Ground for Doctors anymore.Planning to take USMLE .Need your advice ....
Cheers.
Emmy