Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Passed 87/211 - mdnet
I have been silent observer of this forum and feel I should give some input before I sign out forever.

Step 3 - 87/211

nbme- 460 2 months before the exam

UW 68% timed

read crush and first aid cover to cover once

I have a lot of clinical experience in the USA but I think any clinical experience is good enough. Medicine is medicine anywhere in the world.

This test is hard. You have to take it seriously. I studied on and off for 2 months (Very on and off). Week before slowed down and was tired of all the reading so concentrated only on weak areas that I saw in NBME. I could have studied a lot more but just wanted to get this test done.

First day had first three blocks of questions very easy. Clinical experience makes a huge difference in this test. Questions got progressively more difficult as I went on. Time was not an Issue except on the middlle block which questions were way too long. My last five questions I read very fast and placed quick answer. I went home tired but with good feeling. Overall questions where like UW but easier 50%. Other 50% vague questions where I think clinical experience makes a difference.

Second day I thought questions where a bit harder but I thought the questions were fair. Cases went surprisingly well. Most cases ended in 6 to 8 minutes exept one case where I kept asking for ERCP for pt. but pt took long time to improve.
For ccs you can do first aid and it should be enough depending on individual clinical experience.

How to pass?