Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Am i late -
Chets

due to various reasons i am kinda late - scheduled for Step 1 this june the 7th - but want to extend it a bit to feel safer. I plan Step 2 in Mid Sept. and then CS in Nov - dec. I wanna know what are the risks here - i am a novice with this and want to know if Pre-match is completely scrapped or is still done? Will I be terribly late for 2005 mactch?
Chets

please tell me ASAP if I am late
duckie

no. if you pass all exams, you will be in time for the 2005.
Again, please read my posts titled "for the 2005 match" in the beginning of april on this forum.

Prematch isnt a different pathway, its all through ERAS.
just that you may be offered a prematch on interview day.....
Chets

Thanks for the reply - I was wondering that if prematches were to officially scrapped in 2004 - why is the concept still around ....
duckie

i dont believe its official, and i dont think its the most ethical of things.

in some institutions they are doing it openly, and offering pre matches openly still, in others they secretly ask a candidate if they want to go for a prematch at the end of the interview.
I was offered pre matches too, but I never took any up. I dont like the idea.....and i dont support it.
I feel that one gets the wrong impression about the number of seats available for the match- i mean if a program has 11 seats, and 6 people have already pre matched, you have no way of knowing....and your chances of matching there are slimmer (if you are not one of those candidates offered a pre match). I even went to the extent of asking a couple of Program Directors how many seats they were going to give up in the pre match--- a couple of PDs went pale! One said " i am not gonna offer you one- i said " i dont want one".....and others offered me pre match without me asking or even referring to the topic.