Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Time for a pathology threads - lcase
Dr Gill_CA
Thank-you very much for your advice.
Really appreciate it.
what is the difference between externship and observership in pathology?

Hi dear friends! I am a FMG graduated in 2002. step 1 score: 90 & step 2 score:90 I have come to US recently by tourist visa for taking step 2 cs .I have 4 years of clinical experience in my home country and 2 years of research experience in my home country( in pathology) and I have 2 papers published in good journals. I have 4 questions:
1.how can I stay in US?
2.Do I have a chance for pathology residency in US?
3.does passing 2-3 month of observership in US help me?
4.does passing step 3 help me in taking path position?
Has anyone being asked for shadowing the resident in a pathology interview. If so, what is the expectation from the applicant

OR what kind of questions are being asked after shadowing.

Team ; pl let me know yr replies asap
hi guys,
Its nice to be part of this forum. I have just finished my MBBS and MD in pathology from a MCI recognized medical college in India. I have applied for USMLE step1 and i'm trying for a residency in path in US. I'm sure i'm an early bird here, but i thought it would be nice to be prepared beforehand. Can anybody tell me what would be a decent duration of preparation for step1? 6 months? how many hours a day study to get a good score? Will Kaplan lecture series suffice? I'm planning to take up a short term job in emergency lab of our college as i will be answering step1 from India. Do you think i should preferably be working in a particular institution? Is there any favoritism of work experience from top institutes in India? At present i don't have any publication. Do you think i should focus on that for the next 6 months? In which journals should i try for a publication? What other areas should i work to improve my CV?
Hi drsms,