Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Old FMG MD/Phd - lzmdphdfmg
I guess I am an old IMG... here is my situation and request for advice...

I am a FMG (China). I have MD (China) & PhD (US top 25 Univ) with 3 first author publications (2 in US). I graduated from Med School 10 years (1999). I have been continuously in grad school Master, PhD & Post Doc Fellow since with no gaps. I have 3 first author publications (all US), most recent is Lung Cancer Clinical Research. I have numerous other research presentations. My USMLE scores Step 1 - 224 / Step 2 (CK) - 232 / Step 2 (CS) - Pass (all first attempts). My only US clinical experience is 4 weeks of observation at University Hospital cancer ward. I am married to US citizen and have a Green Card. I believe my weaknesses are 10+ years out of Med School & lack of US clinical experience. I will have 3 US LOR, 2 research based and 1 research & clinical based from US Docs. I am interested in Internal Medicine Residency at a good University program. What are my chances? What "level" of University programs would may qualifications appeal to? All responses are appreciated.
lzmdphdfmg, I have similar creds as yours,
Date of Graduation 1999
Step1 250/99
Step2 248/99
Step2 CS Pass, 1st attempt
Visa EAD
ECFMG certificate May 2009
USCE 4 months observership in a university hospital, 2 LoRs from shadowed physicians
Research: US PhD with several journal publications, 2 LoRs from PhD and Postdoc advisers

I also aim at IM, but won't hold my breath for a good university program. I will be thanking God if I get into any program as the competition is getting more and more ferocious. Of course it's a different story if you have connections.
lololol showing off...but good luck, i am older.
Same situation, 35 publications, 10 first author all high ranking... Does it make any difference other than increasing the paper needed to print your CV?