Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
To pier & others about USCE - monica_indimg
can u please tell me how to arrange an observership? i'll be on a B2 visa for CS.Is there any way i can plan in advance ,maybe through the internet?
Any programs u guys know who are open to this?
I'm a fresh grad & i want to apply to IM programs
One more Q.I won't be certified by the time of ERAS application & my CS trip would be in sep-oct period.Would this be a disadvantage to me while interviewing?
I plan to take step 3 also as soon as i get certified, around feb next year & try for H1b.
hi monica!
please share your VISA experience here,it will be of tremendous help to all of us
vikas.
Hi Monica,
Observership.....very difficult to get but the best way(and only way) is to individually enquire at each hospital either by personally going there,calling up or e-mailing them.If you know someone who is practicing Dr. approach them instead.

Though I was planning to do a 1-2month observership initially but now I will be going ahead with the 2006 match without any USCE.I am concentrating on what I'm doing at the moment and do not have any time to observe what I already know!Many of my friends have gotten into IM residency with 0 USCE.Ofcourse many programs want it but there are also many who don't!So do your research and apply to residency programs where you suit best in their selection.....it will save you alot of money and time!
You do not need ECFMG cert at the time of application/interviews but there are some programs which need this requirement so check up their website.However you do need the cert before March in order to participate in the match.
I
f you're giving Step 3 mainly for the reason of obtaining H1 then only apply to H1 programs....why waste your money in a program which you're not interested in!!!