Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I'm an old 1988 graduate, should I go for USMLE? - eagle2020
I graduated in 1988. Should I go for USMLE? I want to. Do programs in USA give residency to old graduates? I've heard they go for young doctors only and deny residency to old graduates even if they score 99 in all the Steps of USMLE. Is it true?
yes ofcourse u can do it, i knwo many here in US who are like in 40's. go ahead. theres nothign like giving only to young guys. you have a full chance
eagle2020,
I am applying for residency in upcoming match. Most hospitals in NY, NJ, PA, OH, IL, MD wants MD's 5 years since graduation, few 10 years, and very little without time restriction. You will always find a hospital without time limit but not many so your choice won't be even with youngers. It depends on your motivation and expectations. Good luck!
So my choices are limited but it is still not impossible.
I want some more people to advise me.
I have a green card, do you think this will boost my chances after still being an old 1988 graduate?
Yes you can do it. I know of a lady in Tenn who graduated from medical school at age 65. She did her residency up there & is now a VA doc. So it can be done & there are places for you & me. I too am an old timer. The step 1 will be difficult for you. I have failed it twice, but will make it this time.

Good luck.
eagle 2020,