Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Humiliation & degradation - luago
Hi Fowley9,

I am also an old graduate and I have some interviews in December. I am sure I will be asked how I will take orders from the younger residents. I would really appreciate it if could tell me how you answered the question.

Thanks
Hi drmdt75

Well, in my case, I answered that topic with a story I always use to tell my med school students and residents back at the hospital, where I have seen terrible figths and verbal abuse among younger residents towards the old ones, and I have to put my hard face against that kind of behavior, so I have been in the other side of the table before. I have told the young wise guys, that grandiosity and recongnition comes by itself when you are willing to help the unpreviledge and the ones getting behind, your stature and respect will do nothing but grow among the ones you have discrepancies with.

To the older students/residents, also have some words like, work with respect and humbble attitude towards the ones in charge, always willing to listen and play your part, because you have to know where are standing in the process to achive your goal, so its much better to learn to listen and be patient., your time will come soon enough.

With that attitude I did my residency years back and have been a teacher for some years, so when I was asked about it, I talk about those experiences I had, I think I answered a diffrent story on every interview, but always saying somthing like I undesrtand the grounds I'm walking now, and I'm willing to pay my dues and learn from everyone, always with an open mind and wide open eyes, becuase it is my time to be a game player now. And always don't be affraid to put out a smile on it.
So just let your experience flow and say something you remember from your early years.
Good luck on your interviews.
how old r u guys anyway ? im 2003 graduates but i have one and 6 month internship

so i recived my diploma on 2005