Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
old img 96/99 passed all ist attempt - unmatched - olderbutnotwiser
Please Advise me...I am an Older IMG (>20 yrs since Graduation). I was in Private Practice in India and shifted to the US with my Family on a Green Card (Family reunification). I studied hard and got good scores. Step 1 224(96); Step IICK 240(99) and Step 2 CS Passed (all Ist attempts in a span of 5 months). Unfortunately I did not get even one gyne interview call. For 2011 now I plan to have US CE of 3 months through Americlerkships and 6 weeks through Drexel. I also have some US LORS.
My question is....
Is it possible that my efforts are futile and that in spite of all these I am unlikely to get interviews this time too. Should I try for only PSY or some other IMG friendly speciality??
Please Advise...
Thanks
hello uncle,

sorry to hear about this uncle. OB-GYN is competitive, so even 20 years you might have had a hard time.

20 years is very long time..though, i know some uncles who have managed to secure a residency..i doubt USCE in your case makes sense - 20+ years of private practice is sufficient experience. maybe try your hand at clinical research - preferably in family medicine itself.

your loving son
cycle
gyne is xtremely competitive....I understand that after 20 yrs of practice u wd want gyne...but gyne is full of lawsuits in the US....I know many gyne docs who have had to give up practice alltogather coz they didnt have any insurance company to cover malpractice for them anymore....try family medicine...makes more sense....esp being an old grad......apply widely in diff specialities, dont care abt the money....goodluck
You have GC, great scores prepare your CV well. Apply widely, search for programs who does not have YOG cut off, FM is your best bet for now. later you may change specialties,
Finish step 3 if you have not done yet, GL