Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Internal Medicine Match 2012 - houstonpass
Hi guys just wanted to give a feedback about UAMS IM program. This may not be the most appropriate thread though, apologies upfront.
I am a current resident in internal medicine program at UAMS. The program is extremely busy and geared towards extracting as much work from residents and more so IMG's . There is hardly any emphasis on teaching or scholarly activities . The program is also very unstable in the sense that residents are constantly leaving and coming and there changes being forced upon residents . The most depressing thing is that several fellows from different university and county hospitals across the country were shocked to see the amount of work internal medicine residents were putting in (or asked to do) at a academic university based setting. The program leaves much desired and if If I were to go to match again, will rank this program much lower. If any prospective US or IMG applicant has a specific question then I will happy to answer to the best of my ability.
The only good thing for visa seekers is that this is an H1 program , at least for now. Also it gives no preference to it's own candidates for cardiology and GI fellowship
Good luck to us all my friends
@drtak:

would you like us to discuss the match process on skype?
also, 99 is irrelevant this match, they will only look at 3 digit scores, we are basically guinea pigs this match

i a,m not under standing wt is this message from one university. please clarify

We are pleased to find your application for our Internal Medicine Residency
Program among our applicants. We believe we have an outstanding educational
program, and are glad that you are interested in learning more.

We are busy reviewing applications and trying to be as efficient as possible
when extending our invitations. Please do not interpret the silence from us
over the next month to be lack of interest.
how many programs did yall apply to