Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
YOG > 10 years, my chances? - lilkul
Hi Everyone. I am an IMG graduated 12 years back. I have several years of UK clinical experience and an MRCP as well as a few months of Canadian experience. I am currently in a full time research job (lab based). I am in my late 30's. I want to do residency in the US, preferably in IM or Neuro, but willing to consider other areas like FM etc.

What are my chances? I want an honest answer before starting the long road of USMLE prep and residency applications. It seems things are very tough nowadays. I remember when I first graduated the US was always open to hard working people despite age and year of graduation. But now many people tell me it is almost impossible to get residency at my age and YOG. Shall I try? Thank you for your advice.
Hi Lilkul

Its obvious that the residency positions have become more competitive, more so with the increase of AMG's and Carribean graduates in the pool, the recession and budget allocation cuts leading to a stagnation in the number of residency positions, and also a wave of experienced people coming from UK like you

For IMG's besides USMLE scores, other significant criteria which are considered for the interview selection are your YOG, attempts in Steps, your past and present clinical experience in the speciality which you have applied, and most importantly your USCE, rarely your research background when you r applying to university programs, LOR's from US practitioners, last but not the least nowadays your VISA status.

I am an IMG, 37 yrs, 1998 graduate, with a IM and Neurology residenies from my home country, practicing neurology, GC, Steps 1 -253, 2 -260, 3 - 231, CS -2nd attempt, 6 weeks observership in ENdocrinology ( ??? !!!! ),participating in the second match, applied to 96 neurology programs & 84 prelim positions, have 13 ivs, INTERVIEWS DO NOT GAURANTEE A MATCH, hope to get matched this season.....