Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I have never posted here - drstethoscope
But I am posting today to describe my experience with the match process.
I am an old graduate 2000
Have 2 attempts on step 1 and 2 on CK, CS 1st attempts, Step 3 first attempt.
Have a Masters in Healthcare admin and have 5 years of experience in public health as a manager.
In one capacity or another I have been working since 2005 in healthcare at a mid management position. I did a few observerships last year and quite a few this year. 4 months in Psych and 6 weeks in IM and volunteer at a church based free clinic since July.

I did both my CK, CS and my Step 3 with a full time job, a new born and a 3 year old when I started studying again in 2008. I have taken time off my job mostly unpaid leave to go out of state to do observerships and some in state observerships since 2009

This is my last and 3rd year applying for a residency. I applied to 86 programs 70 Psych and rest IM. I got 1 IM call and 2 Psych calls. All from programs I had done observerships with.

I had applied to the PA program as my back up and have an interview with them in Jan because I had decided last year I will not let another year bring me down if i do not match.

But I think this was my year. I have signed a pre match with a psych program today and have withdrawn from the match.

This was a long long long journey, painful and depressing at times but I had made up my mind to not keep pursuing a mirage if it wouldn't pan out this time but have other plans in life.

The only thing I can tell you guys is that there are myths out for residency and it makes me wince and groan every time I see posted stuff like contacts get you in and this and that.
Trust me contacts can get you may be an interview but the selection committee doesn't let people in just bc there is a contact unless may be if it is the PD himself (and that to is just my assumption)