Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
US Resideny, Is it vincible? - drfarooqakram
I am an old IMG with scores under 80s both on second attempts and ECFMG Certified.I have been denied observership at atleast 5 IM programs.I am wondering does any program consider a low profile IMG like me.I have been applying for Residency for last 3 years and yet to see any single interview.I have done FCPS MEDICINE from Pakistan and hoping to complete MRCP(UK) in next 1 year. I am planning to appear in Step 3 in Jan.Though after doing all this bullshit,no body in US seems to see me. I mean what the hell? It seems game is only for late 90s and young grads.I am confident that most old grads with low scores can do lot better in Residency but only if they r considered for an interview which seems to be nowhere.
Can any experienced person suggest whether Step 3 should be attepted coz if nothings gonna happen then why to waste time and money which i have already done generously. Moreover , I will be obliged if some one could post a list of hospitals who give Observership irrespective of specialty.
Please somebody,anybody
Hi, if ur in US, go to local VA clinics/ hospitals and volunteer to observe them. or else contact a DR from ur country, explain him ur situation, tell him, that u would like to do observership in his private office. try to get good US LOR. finish ur step 3, dont loose hope.GL
the only reason why programs prefer young graduates is becoz old grads like you usually have other motives.....clearly you do not want to do the training in the US after clearing FCPS and MRCP just for the sake of academics/training, do you????
Hi Dr dont loose hope,there are lot of good things in world.Tell me which state you are .
I am also a old graduate,with low scored.I know it is depressive ,but we have to live.