Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Study materials... Your opinion plz - szymen

Hi guys!
Ive been reading this forum for a while now and when it comes to materials being used i see that most people use kaplan notes and goljan for path supplementing it with some qbanks. Have any1 tried using multiple publishers? I've bought some books based on fa reviews and amazon customer's rating:

Anatomy - Road Map
Embryology - HY
Neuroanatomy - HY
Histology - BRS
Physiology - BRS
Biochemistry - Lippincott's
Pharmacology - Katzung's Review
Pathology - Goljan
Behavioral Science - BRS
Microbiology - Microbiology Made Ridiculosly Simple
Immuology - HY
First Aid 2012
UWorld
Probably a couple NBMEs
Kaplan Vids

Im an 4th year med student (studying in Poland, where med is 6 years). Im going to take a year out to have that 12 months for usmle prep. Im rather below the average when it comes to grades, and my aim is 240+ and that's why i want to have that much time for prep.

What do You think guys about 1yr preparation time with those books?
a lot of these resources are excellent - the idea is to master one. but your plan looks solid. good luck! mleresidencytips (on google) tools for getting a residency.
all u need is lots of qs. some ppl get 99 and high scores with only uw and else, dats too much waste of time to spend on all these. now they take fresh grads, not a 99er who spent yrs studyin crap! anyone cud get there with that. gl
Szymen,

Since it is hard for programs in the US to standardize grades from medical school across the globe, I don't believe your current grades in medical school will play a huge role in your application. Most importantly, even if you have below average grades at medical school, you have a big advantage compared to most IMGs: time for planning.