Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Please advise on my profile! - cool_atomic
Hi all!
First let me congratulate those who matched and wish u best of luck in residency.

I am a final year med student from russia and done with step 1 of 204/84 and a step 2ck 246/99
Yet to take CS next month.
I want to apply for IM and EM programs. I am also looking for some USCE once i graduate in june.
Please let me know if i should proceed or not and if i have chances if i apply only to community programs (because of my low step1).
Am i doomed because of my step1 score or does this CK score cover some gap?

Thanks in advance!
Hi!
As you already know your step1 score is low, but you have other advantages like impressive step 2ck and fresh 2012 YOG.

I would say that have to get USCE for sure, although you do not have much time for that if you want to apply on Sep 1st since you will graduate in June. You will have to be on huge hurry after your graduation, coming to US and getting USCE right away. Furthermore, because of the same reason you will probably have only LoRs from Russia.

However considering your fresh YOG not all programs will require USCE from you (some have this thing like need of USCE in your CV if your YOG is more than 2 years back or 5 years, others will require it from everybody...it depends).

Another Qs is do you need visa? Need of visa will limited circle of hospitals you can apply, but there are still a lot of them who accept ppl with visa.
If I were you, I would apply this Sep, but you have to have a very clear plan and know what you are doing. Good luck, my Friend!

Whiles u are a student...take advantage and come down here and have real US clinical experience. After u graduate it is difficult.
Your peofile is Ok. Am not sure about EM as I heard it is competitive for IMgs
Where has graduates from your med school gone to in the past....that could be important to u.