Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
failed step 1 three times, what are my chances? - numa
hi,
I'm a canadian caribbean graduate, failed 3 times because of my own laziness. I am about to take it again this month, anticipating probably 80-90. Do I still have a chance of getting into a residency? If I do a lot better on step 2 and 3, will that give me a better chance? I've read that they value step 2 and 3 scores a lot more. Does anyone know of friends who have gotten residency after failing step 1 a few times? Should I not take step 1 until I can guarantee myself at least a 90?
thanks for any help in answering these questions
soory numa ... for the failures .
not a pleasant experience
frankly speaking .. failing any of those exams is too bad. i use the word too bad.
and so do the attemps also exponentially make it worse.
However, you have got to keep your dream alive.
this is the way i like looking at it honestly.
What qualities do you like your personal doctor to have., Lazy , failure etc
This is not a joke or try and error thing. you say you were lazy. Nice you have identified your problem but what are you doing against it/them
You are either serious or stop wasting your time.
THis thing is very competitive so before you go patching , wasting dollars , you better start doing your homework. That is exactly what is going to determing your residency chances.
DOING YOUR HOMEWORK.
That means A) studying well to do very well in your next exams .. more important esp as you already have attempts.

B) gaining as much clinical experience as you can

C) Getting good letters of recommendations. (again this is not a joke thing... what kind of letter of recommendation would you give your self what kind do you like to have..... Strife to be that kind of person

D Pray. Prayers is always good for the soul

E) Create good connections

F) Remember many things are possible

EHHH I may sound hard but do not get me wrong . I am just being plain honest.