Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Chance for IM residency for old graduate! - musbmc
I am 11 yr old graduate from Bangladesh. I got 227 in part 1, 245 in ck and planning for cs. I have a diploma in internal medicine from my home country and now in a residency course in MD cardiology. I have also passed MRCP Part 2 writtern.

Anybody pl tell me if there is any realistic possibility to having an IM residency in USA?
Your scores are good. I would suggest you get solid clinical/research experience in US and get LORs for that. You should definitely get IM with your profile.
Your scores are below average for an IMG in Step 1. Your CK is pretty decent. Your year of graduation is very old.

Go on FREIDA, print a list of every IM program in the country and aim for community hospitals. It will take a hell of a long time to find out which programs have graduation requirements. Try and charm some with the fact you have MRCP 2(you done PACES?)
OP - you have decent creds, though YOG is old, you should be able to try for internal.
Do not let any ding-dong tell you otherwise - believe!
Thanks for your comment. Then I should try for step 2 CS and step 3 and USCE!!!!!
can u please tell me which books you used for preparing for step 1.
thanks

SEE TOP RESULT

http://www.google.com/search?btnG=1&pws=...april+2009

(38,000 views!)

CONTENTS
a. Visa
b. Obama Care and 3000 new Residency Positions in 2013

1. Old grads
2.USMLE Course Ratings- THE TRUE STORY…SPECIAL PROGRAMS FOR CARIBE STUDENTS; Good course options for working mothers TOO..
3.USCE-PAID PhysAsst Scholarships (e.g., even Physician /SurgAssts make $120K per year!) and Free UNIVERSITY Externships
4.ECFMG
5.Efficient residency search;OLD IMGS UPGRADE RESIDENCY APPLICATIONS THROUGH GOOD STEP 3 SCORE!;SPECIAL OPTIONS FOR CARIBE STUDENTS ONLY

AS OF 08 -20-2012 THERE ARE 8 IMMEDIATE PGY-1 POSITION ADVERTIZED IN NYC AREA- SEE APPENDIX "4"
6.LORs-Perfect Samples
7.Personal Statements- Perfect Samples