Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pharmacology study group - bugguy19
Hi, pharmacology is always a challenge for me , I want to put an extra work and I think step one is my chance to improve my pharmacology.

I want to dedicate this thread to all who struggle with pharmacology , please feel free to join the discussion.

We all did Kaplan and Fa , but lets add more hy source , mnemonic and enjoy some clinical cases .

I am planning to use Lange flashcards, I will try to cover most of the hy drugs , so lets start Smile
I like to join.thx
Hello bugguy :-)
I'm here too :-)
I'm bad at pharmacy. I studied 1hr of pharmqc with a SP previously from FA.
If you can post which topic you will be discussing before hand may be we will be prepared for that and may be the discussion will be more productive.

What do you think?
I m in..
Hey , welcome am so happy to see that quick response Smile

For 2 weeks starting today we will do antibiotics

Here is the general classification then I will start the clinical cases

B-lactam

1/Penicillins

✴natural penicillin ✈✈✈penicillin G, penicillin V ,procain penicillin , Benzathine penicillin

✴penicillanase resistant penicillin ✈✈ Nafcillin ,Oxacilln ,Methicilln , Cloxacillin

✴Extended spectrum penicillin ✈✈✈ Ampicillin, Amoxicillin

✴Antipseudomonal penicillin ✈✈ Ticarcillin , Carbenecillin , Piperacillin, Mezlocillin

2/ Cephalosporins

✴1st Generation ✈✈✈ Cefazolin ,cefadroxil , cephalexin ,cephradine

✴2nd Generation ✈✈Cefador, cefuroxime,Cefoxitin, Cefamandole ,Cefaclor, cefametazol

✴3rd Generation✈✈Cefixime ,Cefotaxime ,cefoperazole ,cefpodoxime ,cefdinir,

✴4th Generation ✈✈✈ Cefepime
✴5th Generation ✈✈✈Ceftobioprole , ceftaroline

4/Carbapenems✈✈✈(Imipenem +cilastatin ) , meropenem

5/ Monobactam✈✈✈Aztreonam

✴✴✴✴✴✴✴✴Protein synthesis inhibitors ✴✴✴✴

1/Tetracyclines

Demeclocycline
Doxycycline
Minocycline
Tetracycline

2/ Aminoglycoside

Amikacin
Gentamycin
Neomycin
Streptomycin
Tobramycin
Netilmycin

3/Macrolides