Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My Journey to MATCH - journeytomatch
I am writing on the forum for the first time. This post is to give hope to all old img’s with low scores and multiple attempts. The journey is tough but not impossible for us. Trust God and keeping working; working hard every day towards your goal.

I graduated in 2003. It has been a more than a decade long rollercoaster ride. A ride in which a lot of emotions (high hopes/ big disappointments), time, efforts, and money are invested. This one email paid it all - “Congratulations - You have matched”. God finally made the miracle happen for me yesterday. My story, as all of us here, is full of struggles and failures. My profile is not stellar compared with majority of forum members: Step 1 (192, 4th attempt), Step 2 (199, 1st attempt), Step 2 CS (1st attempt), Step 3 (193, 2nd Attempt); MPH (health care organization and policy) from a very reputed university; 2 US externships (IM and psy); 8 US observerships (IM and psy); 2 US voluntary clinical experiences (majority of clinical experiences came after 2008); 11 publications (most of them as first author, mostly clinical); 1 oral and 2 poster presentations in US; working as research associate at hospital for almost 4 years now but our hospital do not have it’s own residency program; 5 very strong LOR’S –I gave one of them in person during the interview and also 3 were from the faculty of the same program I have matched; need VISA.