Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
extenship or research? - xavierb
hello xavierb,

there is not straight forward answer to it. in general externships will help provided the applicant has good scores etc and etc...
but for what ever reason the cv is not good... then externship or research will help... only if done is a program where you can develop connections....
the issue is if an applicant has score below a programs filter mark...no matte how much expternship or research one might have, will be of no use.....in this situation having connections would be immensely helpful..
bottom line is..what ever you decide to do...do in a place where you can develop connections.
hope i answered you question.
Good Luck.
Thanks mstar, I really appreciate your thoughts. I'm an old grad with low scores so I'm also looking to make connections
@Swanneck can you send me an email plz? I want to ask you something if you don't mind?
jaimbo2010atgeemaledotcom Thanks Smile
US clinical experience has more weight in application than research I believe.
1- choose the one that would help u to get interview in the same place that u will do externship or research
2- if no one would help u to get interview in the same hospital then do externship because PD like it a lot many reasons : they want to make sure that u know how to handle American pt / when u do externship u will have the opportunity to get LOR from US physician who will write about ur skills in taking Hx and performing PE / ur english skills and other +Ve things.
@swanneck, I am applying for research positions in teaching hospitals, how should u make sure that it is clinical research and not regular research in the lab? Please advice .
It depends on your credentials and your career goals.

If you have pretty good scores and academic / fellowship career goals then it is a no brainer Research is the way to go.