Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Need advise on my chances of getting residency - milkybar
I am an old graduate (2011)
step 1 in 2012- 194
step2ck 2015-220
cs -waiting for results, had 8 months of work experience at home country.applied for observerships and trying for research oppurtunities but dint get any.Getting very tensed on my residency chances,but i have no other option .
ARE there any other things for increasing my chances of matching atleast for nxt match?(2017)
take step 3 and keep looking for research. even if it means working for free. if that doesn't work try and volunteer in health clinics.

but just to let you know that the odds are against you, due to your real low step 1 score. most programs have a minimum cut-off of 200. so after applying just make sure to call as many programs and be persistent.
research means nothing this application cycle for you. It is june, by the time you get set up you won't be able to publish anything and will probably not be able to develop a relationship with your PI to vouch for you

you need US observerships externships research should be something to think about for 2016 not in the interim (6 months)

good luck
@kash_md - he is talking about 2017 match not 2016 if you read what he wrote at the end. so research will help.
akim11 I'm well aware of what he wrote and if you read my advice its well thought out

With his low scores he needs to maximize his clinical contacts, ie he/she needs to do as much observerships or externships as possible to demonstrate that they have the clinical acumen, the personality and at least 3 LoRs to maximize their opportunity to get into residency.

research is a filler to keep his CV going after accomplishing his Clinical Goals and if he is lucky get contacts.