Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
need serious help... - kiranrathi89
hello all,
I am an IMG..I have really low scores on step 1 and step 2.
I have 220 on step 1 and CK.
CS passed in first attempt.
205 in step 3.
I have no US clinical experience,just home country LORS.
I tried to find US experience but couldn't do so.
Are there any chances for me to secure an interview in family medicine or pediatrics.
Should i apply with these credentials or would it be a waste of money??
thanks
When is your graduation date.

You need to secure observerships for the next application cycle at least (you need to think that far ahead), as there are many available, yes they cost money (can be very cost prohibitive) but the waiting list maybe 3 - 12 months.

I would contact these numerous programs and ask to be put on waiting list as many ppl cancel

I would apply this year but FM from what ppl say is keen on USCE. I really don't know enough but I think you have a shot at IMG friendly IM programs because you are 1) done with step 3 2) depending on your YOG

thanks for the reply..
i graduated in 2012..
hello kiranrathi,

To be honest, home LORs carry very little significance. USCE and or Research/ publication put someone in added advantage.

I know an externship program ( not observership, hope you know the difference). Its in california
I did there & it was very much helpful to me even i was assured to be furnished with a very good LOR.
www.rogerwashington.com
( visit this web site, you will have all the information how to apply)

or mail address is drrdub ( first write a mail stating that you are interested in externship)
I knew many IMGs who got matched did there externship here. I am applying this year.

NB:I am helping others as someone also helped me during this phase.
believe in "good Karma"
Dont do Dr. Roger's externship or observership whatever. He is a private physician and just extracts money. It will not help you. Look for volunteering or shadowing in Universities.