Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I almost lost hope of practicing medicine in US - obrx
Hi guys! I graduated medical school in 2010 and have been applying for residency since then, spending thousands of dollars every year with no results.
I already passed my usmle steps , have 100% US clinical experience and LORs and yet nothing.
After my application in 2014(four consecutive times) to residency without anything, i was ready to call it a wrap, to pursue other paths. Luckily for me, I ran into an old friend who was doing a 1 year internship program in Puerto Rico(currently practicing as a general practitioner in Florida). He explained to me how the internship programs work and the opportunities afterwards. He gave me some resources on how to apply, including the website residencyhack.com, which was helpful. By God's grace I got into one of the programs and I started in July 2015, even though i did not speak much spanish before i started.
Now I am done and I am a living witness of the opportunities after doing those internship programs.
So guys, never give up. Residency is not the only way to practice medicine in the US, explore your options, have plan Bs. Internship programs in Puerto Rico are great plan Bs if you cannot get into a residency program.
Thanks guys!

Peace out
congrats on finding another way. which hospital did u finish your internado? i am thinking of applying as well
SPAM!
@jen11 - thank you. I did it in a HIMA hospital. I think you should apply there too, especially the ones in Cupey and Fajardo. Very good training and experience.

@ silvertruck- I really do not have anything to say to you. You are entitled to your opinion
good info, how can I contact you?
Can some one elaborate on the Puerto Rico internship ?I tried searching online and could not find any official information about this.
@tmo20 - you can email me at dr.obrx, I'll do my best to reply once I can.