Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Img.Can I get into research? - img121
What I wanna ask is if the hospital helps us get visa if we agree to do research for them for free?
And if not how can an IMG land a research job? Since we need J1 visa for research and we get b1/b2 for observerhsip?
And also how do I get to know who is doing a research and in what topic?
Is there a site where I can check?
Sorry for these silly questions but I am new to this.
If you look up each hospital, search for labs or research on their websites. The names of the PIs will show up and then look up their publications or lab website. Thats the way to find out what people are studying.

My suggestion: Don't volunteer to do anything for free. They will take the free and you will most likely not get out of it what you want! Volunteer if you need experience but don't want to spend a whole day in the lab and you want to study for USMLE. If any lab volunteers to give you visa for free research, please let us know.

All the best. Research technician is the name of the position a lot of labs are looking for and if you are lucky you will be able to do some research, otherwise its lab management and picking up after others. Be specific in what you want. Very specific. If you say you are applying for a PhD after two years then they will take you more seriously.

All the best.
Oldgrad2020 told you not to volunteer anything for free.

I disagree.

1. Oldgrad2020 advice is only only relevant if you are a US citizen. You are not a US citizen and therefore, its going to be incredibly difficult for you to get a paid position where they also sponsor your visa. I believe your designation would be "research scholar" and you and the research institution would need to apply for a J1 visa. You will find more information here:

https://www.ecfmg.org/evsp/applicants-re...holar.html