Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
inquiry about radiology -
pradeep

hi,

i am a medical student from Madras and want to become interventional radiologist in USA. what should I due to increase my chances. i have not taken any usmle, but expect i could get over 250 to 260 is that enought to become radiologist in USA.

TY
pradeep

please someone answer me
nono

it's not the score...
radiology is extremely difficult to get....it's in big demand with the US students
u may try getting a transitional year...and then u might get thru
pradeep

does it work to do family practice or medicine then apply to radiology?
what things are open to non US citizens?
if an IMG is a better candidate do they still pick bad US candidate first?
Halu

In my opinion first of all finish your studies, take your USMLE, in the meantime try to come to the USA (during Summer vacation)and do some volunteer job in the dept.of radiology any where in the USA, off course before coming to the USA read some papers regarding your field. In this way you will get first hand knowledge of your field, dept. of radiology will also come to know you and your work, may be during your volunteer work you will also be able to give some gifts to your supervisors (Carpets, Arazzo, some antique furniture, believe me it will help you a lot and these things are also found here, in this country they call them " donations" etc.)
So through your hospital get in contact with some hospital in the USA but before that try to practice interventional radiology in some private clinic in India or in some govt. hospital.
Keep on working very hard.
Bye
IMG

I don't think the part about "donations" applies...
Observership - yes, US experience - yes, fat scores - yes... but "donations"... come on!!
nono

hey
the donations thing is hogwash...
but yes...clout does work....which means if the program director wants u as a resident....he is the final authority...
But with prematch gone....you never know.